Cinderella (1950)

Basic Summary – With a wicked stepmother (Eleanor Audley) and two jealous stepsisters (Rhoda Williams, Lucille Bliss) who keep her enslaved and in rags, Cinderella (Ilene Woods) stands no chance of attending the royal ball. When her fairy godmother (Verna Felton) appears and magically transforms her reality into a dream come true, Cinderella enchants the handsome Prince Charming at the ball, but must face the wrath of her enraged stepmother and sisters when the spell wears off at midnight.

It’s about time that I get back to some Disney films and what’s better than jumping in with Cinderella. Now I know in the line up of Disney films this doesn’t come directly after Bambi, but I’ll get to those films when I finally obtain them to watch.

Everyone knows the story of Cinderella basically so let’s talk about what is relatively loved about the film. First the villain. She is wicked and her own daughters are entertaining none the less. cinderella-wicked-stepmother-stepsistersI mean they also cause you to feel for the main character by the one scene that I won’t describe, but I’m sure everyone remembers well.

Another factor of the film that is relatively loved is Cinderella herself. Though her character draws a lot of questions such as “Why can’t she just leave?”, the emotions she shows and songs she sings are pretty timeless. Though by the end she is basically a damsel in distress (Don’t worry I’ll have discussion about this in the future), she usually fends for herself with her step-family.

Personally, what I don’t like about the film are two things, 1) The Prince and 2) The Mice. Now I know one of these is more controversial than the other I’ll address the mice first. I honestly don’t like them that much.
maxresdefault.jpg

I understand that they help Cinderella accomplish tasks such as design the dress and such, but they take a lot of screen time that could be used to explain more of Cinderella’s situation such as the newer version did (We’ll get there when we get there…).

The Prince is basically just there. He doesn’t really do anything and doesn’t have more than maybe 4 lines in the entire film. And that bothers me. Why should I like the Prince? Is there anything special about him other than he is a prince? EXPLAIN! Thankfully they do in the 3rd sequel, but that is many years too late for me.

It’s a nice film for the company returning to the princess genre after some time away, but I’m neutral about it.

Leave a Reply

