Neighbors (2014)

Basic Summary – New parents Mac (Seth Rogen) and Kelly (Rose Byrne) move to the suburbs when they welcome an infant daughter into their lives. All goes well with the couple, until the Delta Psi Beta fraternity moves in next door. Mac and Kelly don’t want to seem uncool, and they try their best to get along with frat president Teddy (Zac Efron) and the rest of the guys. However, when the couple finally call the cops during a particularly raucous frat party, a full-scale war erupts.

Upon first viewing of this trailer, I was concern that the film was just going to be some stupid film trying to cater to young audiences. Actually watching the film, it does that, but it isn’t stupid (thankfully).

It’s always been a curiosity on how neighbors react to college fraternities living next to them. I figured this is accurate to an extent. Seth Rogen and Zac Efron, I think, are my next favorite comedy duo. They build off each other and it is beautifully played out. The supporting cast is also really good and funny. After this film, I was wondering if they were going to do a sequel and I was right.

It does have flaws, but honestly as I’m writing this, I don’t remember them at all. I think it would be the over-exaggeration of the fraternity, but I don’t mind it.

If you haven’t seen this, check it out. It’s probably better to see this before the sequel. I mean you could probably survive not seeing the first one, but it helps create the connection between the first film more.

Leave a Reply

