Justice League vs. Teen Titans (2016)

Basic Summary – Robin is forced to join the young super team and soon has to help lead them in a fight against the mighty Justice League after they are possessed by the demon Trigon.

I got really excited for this based off the trailer because first off IT’S NOT ANYTHING LIKE TEEN TITANS GO! and second, it has two of my favorite superhero groups: Justice League and Teen Titans. It is a little nerve-wracking that these are not the same voice actors that I grew up with and Robin sounds really like a little kid, but it is action packed and pretty entertaining.

The story is more of an origin story for the Teen Titans and I actually don’t mind that. I think I’m a little more hesitant towards this animated film is because I remember the old Teen Titans and the characters there. These new and old ones are fun, I’m just not feeling a team connection by the end of it. There is still comic-relief which is great, but most of the characters are kinda boring (for lack of better terms).

In addition to the origin of the Teen Titans, it is also a back-story of Raven and mostly revolves around her. I love that aspect a lot, but I’m curious for what else they are going to do. Not to spoil the ending, but there is a great cameo that leads me to wonder how they are going to play the storyline around the next addition or so.

All in all, I bought this movie and I don’t regret it. But I would recommend Renting it first to see if you like it. But before you even get there, if you know the original Teen Titans show, you might want to clear your mind of all those memories and go into this with an open mind because all the characters you remember are no longer there.

 

Leave a Reply

