Across the Universe (2007)

Basic Summary – The songs of the Beatles provide the sonic framework for this musical tale of romance, war and peace. When young British worker Jude (Jim Sturgess) sets sail for the United States in search of his father, he ends up meeting carefree college student Max (Joe Anderson) and his lovely sister, Lucy (Evan Rachel Wood), along with a cast of eccentric characters. As Jude and Lucy fall for each other, their relationship is threatened by the social upheaval that accompanies the Vietnam War.

Ah the songs of the Beatles – timeless. This movie – not really. That’s not to say the movie is bad because it isn’t. But it just doesn’t have memorable plot or story. I really don’t want to hate this movie because I don’t. It just isn’t amazing.

I recently went back to investigate this story to see if it holds up. And my opinion doesn’t really change. It’s just alright. It is trippy – but that is the drug references that become popular during the time. Sometimes I feel like I need to be on something for those scenes, but you can get through the parts without it. I do like that I understand the historical references now besides just the Vietnam War. The characters are alright – I don’t know if they really develop slowly or really abruptly. Like I don’t know how half of them even became friends or how the story develops still.

I mean it is up to check it out if you want. Netflix for sure. You could probably skip on buying it, but if you appreciate the Beatles music it is worth checking out. And if you like the song covers of them, then the soundtrack is worthing checking out again.

Leave a Reply

