How to Train Your Dragon (2010)

Basic Summary – Hiccup (Jay Baruchel) is a Norse teenager from the island of Berk, where fighting dragons is a way of life. His progressive views and weird sense of humor make him a misfit, despite the fact that his father (Gerard Butler) is chief of the clan. Tossed into dragon-fighting school, he endeavors to prove himself as a true Viking, but when he befriends an injured dragon he names Toothless, he has the chance to plot a new course for his people’s future.

Let me start by saying I have no idea what got me to watch this film. By the time this was out, I was probably 13 or 14 years old so DEFINITELY NOT in my age range. But that being said, I actually really enjoyed this film. Maybe it was the voice acting, maybe it was the setting, or maybe it was just Toothless himself. I mean look at how adorable he is.

tumblr_n1zh1bn0x31s374jco1_500

Okay besides the point, usually I’m worried about films taking somewhat modern day talk into something that is obviously in older times. But somehow they make it work here. The do stray from the book (never read them, but according to those who have it is really off), but I don’t think it hurts for this. I don’t really know how Dreamworks does it, but congrats on this film.

The fun part about this, there really isn’t a villain. Okay, there is one scene that everyone could say THAT IS THE VILLAIN, but honestly we don’t meet them until like the last 20 min or so. It is literally a story about a boy and his dragon for the most part and challenging society to rethink their ways.

I would personally recommend this to almost any kid, teen, or even adult to watch. It has something for everyone and I don’t know how it pulls it off. I don’t believe this one is on Netflix, but you could probably find it on iTunes to rent or buy. Personally I would buy it because once you watch it, you’ll probably want to watch it again.

 

2 thoughts on “How to Train Your Dragon (2010)

Leave a Reply

