The Last Song (2010)

Basic Summary – Estranged from her father (Greg Kinnear) for a number of years, teenage Ronnie (Miley Cyrus) isn’t pleased when her mother ships her and her younger brother down to a Southern beach town to spend the summer with him. While her father uses a shared love of music to try to reconnect with her, Ronnie finds romance with a handsome local (Liam Hemsworth).

Ah the film that helped Miley Cyrus and Liam Hemsworth become engaged (twice!). Alright, we know how I feel about Nicholas Sparks films. I could care less about them. But since it is Valentine’s Day this weekend, this is my little treat to you.

I will say it. This is one of the few films I ACTUALLY enjoyed. I don’t know what it is, but I really like these two together in the film. The chemistry is real – obviously. They don’t try and throw anything unusual at you. The acting is real and doesn’t completely feel fake. And in defense, I like the little brother. Watch the trailer and you’ll understand – his sass is truly remarkable.

This is one of the few (if not only) Nicholas Sparks films I will actually recommend to watch. It has been out for six years, so if you haven’t seen it yet – go check it out. I’m sure it is somewhere, but probably going to be hard now because of the holiday.

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Leave a Reply

