Expecting Amish (2014) – Lifetime

Basic Summary – Expecting Amish on Lifetime tells the story of 18-year-old Hannah Yoder, who is ready to join the Amish Church and marry her boyfriend Samuel. But things change when she goes to Hollywood and gets a glimpse of the world beyond.

Ignore the title of the Youtube trailer – it is the right one I promise

I don’t even know how I came across this television movie. Maybe it was because I was curious what some of my favorite people were up to and then I stumbled across this little gem.

I actually really appreciated this little movie. I assume it sticked somewhat close to Amish culture – don’t quote me on that… In addition, it demonstrated what it is potentially like to be entering a “new world” different from your own. Expecting Amish keeps the struggles of growing up and what to do if something unexpected happens along the way. There are choices to be made that can potentially change your future and your interactions with people along the way.

I don’t have much to say about this. It is slow, but perhaps that is because of the setting. It takes it time to explain information and doesn’t try to rush much. If you haven’t seen it yet, it is hard to find. But check it out if you do find it.

Leave a Reply

