Grease: Live (2016) – Fox

Grease: Live is a television special that was originally broadcast by Fox on January 31, 2016. It was a live, televised adaptation of the 1971 musical Grease, starring Julianne Hough and Aaron Tveit.

Basic Summary – Experience the friendships, romances and adventures of a group of high school kids in the 1950s. Welcome to the singing and dancing world of “Grease,” the most successful movie musical of all time. A wholesome exchange student Sandy and a leather-clad Danny have a summer romance, but will it cross clique lines?

I honestly did not know what to expect when I heard this was being made into a Live-Television production. I had fears because not all of those have been going great so far – but boy this was beautiful to watch.

The actors knew what to do and how to do it. It had funny moments and tough ones too. I’m personally proud of every actor in that cast because it is had to do something like that on live-television, but I’m especially impressed by Vanessa Hudgens tonight. Dealing with the passing of her father, she by far gave one of the best performances of the night. I’m positive her father is very proud of her. I’m sad that this was a one night production, but also I’m glad it is – I don’t have reasoning but I’m glad it will (hopefully) only air once on television.

If you missed tonight’s production, don’t worry. I’m sure you’ll be able to find it on Fox’s website later or even on DVD/iTunes in the future.

Leave a Reply

