The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010)

Basic Summary – Visiting their annoying cousin, Eustace, Lucy (Georgie Henley) and Edmund Pevensie (Skandar Keynes) come across a painting of a majestic ship called the Dawn Treader. Suddenly, the painting comes to life and draws the youths into Narnia, where they meet their old friend, King Caspian (Ben Barnes). Caspian is on a quest to find the seven lost Lords of Telmar, whose swords will save Narnia from an evil green mist that enslaves men’s minds and bodies.

Alright I needed to sleep on this film, but I could right a review on this one. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader – probably the least favorite one of the Narnia series and the one that cause the film to be on a standby for some time – is actually following the book pretty closely.

That being said, the book is just as annoying as the movie if not more annoying. But we’re not here to review a book. The actors are back once again and it feels kinda like a mess this time. Don’t get me wrong. They are all playing their parts, but it seems messy now – Prince Caspian’s accent changes, the animation looks off, and people just look kinda of uncomfortable. I hate to say it, but I like the scenes where we were NOT in Narnia. This may be because Disney backed out of making this film and 20th Century Fox took over. Not a smart move there…

In addition, if the religious aspects didn’t hit you over the head in The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe, IT SURE DOES NOW. I won’t give it away because you’ll know when you see it.

Now when I say see it – I would hold off watching this until they make another or something because I really dislike having this be the last film of the Narnia series I’ve seen. It is a really bad taste in my mouth and I hope they make another soon-ish or something.

Leave a Reply

