The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008)

Basic Summary – One year after their previous adventure, the Pevensie children (Georgie Henley, Skandar Keynes, William Moseley, Anna Popplewell) return to the magical land of Narnia and find that 1300 years have passed there. War has come to Narnia once again, and the children join forces with Prince Caspian (Ben Barnes) to overthrow the evil King Miraz and restore peace to the land.

I’m just on a roll right now. Probably because I’m procrastinating an essay I have. Anyways, Prince Caspian, the second movie in this series. I’m still trying to figure out how Disney is doing this series because this is technically the 4th one in the series…I’m basically lost at this point.

Moving on, Disney takes a more darker/political turn with this book. I’m sure the book was similar; however, most people seem to dislike this one – well get to Dawn Treader eventually. And I would say they aren’t wrong on some things. Our actors are back – along with some new ones – to take our their roles and bring us back into the land of Narnia. Now let’s just jump to what I liked, I like the conflicts this time around. They have moral dilemmas to deal with. It isn’t just vanquishing an evil ruler – they have to figure out what they stand for and such.

Okay what didn’t I like – the characters’ ages. I still believe they are supposed to be kids (like at least like 15 or something for the older children – Peter and Susan), but Disney waved a wand and made them just a bit older. There was a romance that WAS NOT in the book and frankly it was WAY out of place. Also, not to spoil too much, but there was a scene that involves Deus ex Machina – meaning that “an unexpected power or event saving a seemingly hopeless situation, especially as a contrived plot device in a play or novel”- that appears way more often than it should in this film.

Either way, I still think this film is worth a shot. It is more for the adult audience this time around, but I think it is a nice change. But man does it backfire later on.

Leave a Reply

