The First Time (2012)

Basic Summary – DAVE (DYLAN O’BRIEN) IS AN INCURABLE ROMANTIC IN LOVE WITH THE HOTTEST GIRL IN SCHOOL, JANE (VICTORIA JUSTICE). UNFORTUNATELY, SHE ONLY THINKS OF HIM AS A FRIEND – WITHOUT BENEFITS. THROUGH A CHANCE ENCOUNTER, DAVE MEETS AUBREY (BRITT ROBERTSON), AN ALLURING GIRL FROM A NEARBY SCHOOL, WHICH SPARKS A FLAME THAT SOON BECOMES A RED-HOT ROMANCE FILLED WITH ALL THE ANGST, MISSTEPS AND AWKWARDNESS OF A FIRST TIME LOVE! HILARIOUS AND HEARTWARMING THE FIRST TIME IS AN UNFORGETTABLE COMING-OF-AGE COMEDY FEATURING A SIZZLING ENSEMBLE CAST. (Sony Pictures)

So I actually don’t know why I decided to watch this film. It was on my list of films to see, but I don’t know why today of all days I started it.

This film is different. What I mean by that is that – yes it has the stereotypical story and stereotypical ending – but the dialogue and connections felt in this story are different. The main actors – Dylan O’Brien and Britt Robertson – actually share some really good chemistry and great sassy remarks that keep the story entertaining and relatable to the average high school student. I could even call it relatable to a college student sometimes. Occasionally it slips to that realm of unbelievability but overall, I believe there characters’ actions.

There was only one thing that bothered me but it would be the rushed romance between the characters. I mean I’m all for the romance, but it just felt a bit quick. I’ll just leave it at that because if you watch the movie you will understand.

Overall, I say this movie is worth checking out if you get the chance. Maybe make it a date night movie or something you watch by yourself with a bowl of ice cream – the choice is yours.

Side Note – I know I haven’t given these reviews lately any stars and I think I’m going to stick with letting you guys decide how I felt about the film.

Until next time

-E ❤

Leave a Reply

