Star Wars: A New Hope (1977)

Basic Summary – The Imperial Forces — under orders from cruel Darth Vader (David Prowse) — hold Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) hostage, in their efforts to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) and Han Solo (Harrison Ford), captain of the Millennium Falcon, work together with the companionable droid duo R2-D2 (Kenny Baker) and C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) to rescue the beautiful princess, help the Rebel Alliance, and restore freedom and justice to the Galaxy.

Well…I should probably start these soon. Star Wars: A New Hope came out before my time, but I was lucky enough to see the 1997 special edition of this film before it got crazy edited over time. This film still holds up to even this day and age with all the CGI happening. It is saddening that George Lucas overtime decided to edit this series overtime and stop selling the original copies of the film so that fans can enjoy the very first editions of his masterpiece.

Okay I’m getting away from the point of this film – A New Hope. The first in the Original Prequels and in the now 7 part series (I think that is what it is at this time – but Disney can change that….) set the original bar for the rest of the films to follow. Was it the best of the series? That can be debated on for days, but I don’t think it is. *SHOTS FIRED* Now it’s not the worst…I think there is a general agreement of which was the worst Star Wars films, but we’ll get to that in time.

This being the first film for the series, the cast is great at making us believe about everything happening around them. It really feels like we are in this world. Also got to say, I love the one liners that are thrown in every now and then. All I can say is that I do enjoy watching these films all over again and I can’t wait to see The Force Awakens, but that will come after I finish all these reviews.

Leave a Reply

