A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984) – 3 stars out of 5

LET THE HALLOWEEN HORROR OCTOBER REVIEWS BEGIN

Basic Summary – In Wes Craven’s classic slasher film, several Midwestern teenagers fall prey to Freddy Krueger (Robert Englund), a disfigured midnight mangler who preys on the teenagers in their dreams — which, in turn, kills them in reality. After investigating the phenomenon, Nancy (Heather Langenkamp) begins to suspect that a dark secret kept by her and her friends’ parents may be the key to unraveling the mystery, but can Nancy and her boyfriend Glen (Johnny Depp) solve the puzzle before it’s too late?

The first film in this month’s horror/halloween marathon and boy was it worth it to finally watch this film. I watched it alone and was I scared of it – not really… I mean this film probably did a good job of scaring back in the its day, but now it is kinda of dated in effects and horror tactics. It is a classic to watch with some friends on a dark cold night, but it isn’t much more than just interesting. I realize there are sequels to this and a remake of the classic; however, I heard that this one is the best of them. 

The actors are alright – Johnny Depp needed introducing shows how old this film is. He looks in his teens or at least twenties. Freddy Kruger is pretty darn terrifying, but I don’t find him that scary in watching the film. If I was in that situation heck yeah I would. The parents hit a point of “do you not even care about your daughter at this point?” But if you watch the film, you can understand why in the end. I think…I don’t really know.

So that being said, should you check it out – yeah it is worth one night. 

Would I watch it again – eh maybe if someone else wanted to see it as well.

Would I watch the rest of them (sequels and remakes) -probably not unless someone else wanted to watch it with me (not scared just would need some company to make myself sit thorough it and not just quit halfway)

Leave a Reply

