10 Things I Hate About You (4 stars out of 5)

Basic Summary – Kat Stratford (Julia Stiles) is beautiful, smart and quite abrasive to most of her fellow teens, meaning that she doesn’t attract many boys. Unfortunately for her younger sister, Bianca (Larisa Oleynik), house rules say that she can’t date until Kat has a boyfriend, so strings are pulled to set the dour damsel up for a romance. Soon Kat crosses paths with handsome new arrival Patrick Verona (Heath Ledger). Will Kat let her guard down enough to fall for the effortlessly charming Patrick?

“I want you to want me” – Play this while reading the review, it makes it better of a review

Romantic Comedy – kinda my favorite genre of film, but that aside, 10 Things I Hate About You. I didn’t know what to expect from this film the first time I watched it – but honestly I loved it. Every single second of it was gold. Everyone’s performance in this was spot on and hilarious. The storyline was amazing and unique. I know it was loosely based off of Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew, but it is still pretty great. It doesn’t really try to stick to the dialogue and that’s alright – why? It isn’t even in Shakespearean time so yeah. Would I consider this a classic film – it can be disputed among many people but I would consider that everyone should check out this film at least once in their lifetime.

What is wrong with this film – ummmmmm they tried to make a show based off this on ABC Family. And it was alright – it tried to give more character development to them and change the story a bit as well…but it ended after one season leaving me with a cliff-hanger…NOT OKAY HERE. At least wrap it up and give me closure!!! But I do appreciate that they got the same actor who played the dad in the original film (maybe just trying to keep to the original film in a sense).

Where can you find this film – Netflix in some country I assume. Maybe YouTube, but definitely on iTunes

Leave a Reply

