The Fault in Our Stars (4 out of 5 Stars)

Basic Summary – Hazel Grace Lancaster (Shailene Woodley), a 16-year-old cancer patient, meets and falls in love with Gus Waters (Ansel Elgort), a similarly afflicted teen from her cancer support group. Hazel feels that Gus really understands her. They both share the same acerbic wit and a love of books, especially Grace’s touchstone, “An Imperial Affliction” by Peter Van Houten. When Gus scores an invitation to meet the reclusive author, he and Hazel embark on the adventure of their brief lives.

Cancer sucks – let’s just start there. Plus the film starts with that. Based off John Green’s book, it follows the story of two star-crossed lovers who both have cancer. This is the story that tugs every teenagers heartstrings. And does it do it well – I mean I would be lying if I said it didn’t tug on mine. I loved this film and the book. It stays pretty close to the source material and having John Green help along the way made it even better.’

The actors are all really good and totally look like how I imagine them (which is pretty impressive to do) and that Shanielle Woodley cut her beautiful long hair for this role shows complete dedication to it. Just check it out . . . that takes guts

Time for the problems I have with this film (and it pains me to talk about problems this film has) 1) is the language that the main characters use, 2)The Narrating, and 3) reminding me that I’m single. They sound like a couple in a different era – I don’t know when I told someone I was in the middle of a sililoquy or I mentioned that someone had a hubris (a fatal flaw). Also the narration in the film is annoying at a point. I know it is needed sometimes, but it seemed like every 15 mins we got narration up until the film transition to Amsterdam. One more thing this film just reminds that I’m still single…it brings those thoughts around so I just have to knock another point down for that. Other than that I love the film itself.

Would I recommend it – Yes, if you want a book that is relatively close to the source material in every way

Where to find it – I’m sure Netflix has it in some country, but if not iTunes has it. 

One thought on “The Fault in Our Stars (4 out of 5 Stars)

  1. I loved The Fault In Our Stars but I agree, I don’t understand why they speak that way, especially as they are 1) supposed to be teenagers and 2) From the 21st Century. You have got me listing thing now haha! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

